Select Page


11 year wait for silverware ends as Rampart Celtic clinch Clancy Cup

11 year wait for silverware ends as Rampart Celtic clinch Clancy Cup

Rampart Celtic claimed their first piece of silverware in the Dundalk and District League when they beat Bellurgan Utd 4-3 in a thrilling Clancy Cup final on Saturday night in Clancy Park.

Rampart had come from 4-0 down in last week’s semi-final against Redeemer Celtic to book their place in their first Clancy Cup final after winning a penalty shoot-out following a 5-5 draw.

They then finished the job by beating a Bellurgan side who had beaten Quay Celtic in their own last four tie 3-1.

It was Bellurgan who struck first in what was an end to end affair with Luke Higgins pouncing on a poor back pass to fire his side in front after just 16 minutes.

Rampart then equalised six minutes before half-time. Lee Wright was quickest to react to apply the finish after his initial effort had come back off the upright.

It was Bellurgan who would lead 2-1 at the break however, as Joe Needham replied with a header for the peninsula side a minute later.

Rampart would equalise for a second time on the hour mark when Anthony Lines scored from an acute angle to make it 2-2.

Lines would then give his side the lead for the first time on 68 minutes when he courageously slammed the ball home from six yards. Unfortunately for Rampart their leading marksman would have to retire shortly after through injury.

It mattered little though as a mistake by Bellurgan keeper Seamus O’Hare was punished by Lee Wright who put Rampart 4-2 ahead.

Bellurgan refused to throw in the towel and five minutes from the end Joe Dunne struck to set up a grandstand finish.

Rampart would hold out to collect their first trophy after 11 years of trying.

A piece of league history was also written on the night when Sarah Dyas became the first female referee to take charge of a Cup final after 112 years since the League was founded in the 1905/06 season.

Aidan McGuinness won the James Clarke Man of the Match Award. The presentation were handed out by Terry Kelly, nephew of Jimmy Clancy.

The Dundalk and District League would like to thank Quay Celtic for the use of the splendid Clancy Park and for their sponsorship of the final.

Check out highlights from the final below…

Rampart Celtic: R Boduarin, A Fallon, P Fee, D Azure, A McGuinness, S McQuillan, E Rodgers, D Sharkey, A Lines, L Wright, E Akinade, P O’Hagan, P Kloda, E McGuinness, O Amara, C Mullen, T Osbe, D Murphy.

Bellurgan Utd: S O’Hare, J McArdle, C Lawson, S Finnegan, J Long, B Dunne, L Higgins, B McDonnell, J Needham, D Sharkey, S O’Brien, J Dunne, P Fisher, J Smyth, P Lynch, S McElvinney, T O’Connor, D Traynor.

Referee: Sarah Dyas.


Follow us on Facebook