Select Page


17 locals honoured at Dundalk Civic Awards

17 locals honoured at Dundalk Civic Awards

Seventeen groups and individuals were honoured for their contribution to the local community at the second annual Dundalk Civic Awards ceremony in County Hall on Tuesday evening.

Each of the recipients were nominated by local councillors for their work In the arts, local sport, community work, charity work and more.

The awards were presented by Dundalk Municipal District Committee chairman Cllr John McGahon, with one of the most popular awards going posthumously to the late Willie Duffy, from Ard Easmuinn, for his work over a long number of years with Dundalk Tidy Towns. Sadly Willie passed away last May.

The other recipients included:

  • Gerry Gover (soccer)
  • Colette O’Hagan (marathon)
  • The Murphy family (hurling)
  • St Gerard’s AC (athletics)
  • Tara Erraught (opera)
  • Fiona Squibb (Louth Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals)
  • David Lennon/Jinx Lennon (music)
  • North Louth Hospice (healthcare)
  • Oliver Murphy (Irish Wheelchair Association)
  • Joe Martin (Dundalk FC)
  • Noel Sharkey (author)

Pictured above main: Cllr John McGahon presenting a Dundalk Civic Award to members of the North Louth Hospice

Follow us on Facebook

Local Courses