Select Page


Blackrock’s Dunne called into Republic of Ireland provisional squad

Blackrock’s Dunne called into Republic of Ireland provisional squad

Blackrock’s Jimmy Dunne has been named in the provisional Republic of Ireland senior squad for the international friendly against Northern Ireland (November 15) at the Aviva Stadium and the UEFA Nations League clash with Denmark (November 19).

The defender, who earned his first U21 cap earlier this year, has been called up on the back of a series of impressive performances in the SPL. Having joined on loan from parent club Burnley in the summer, the 21-year-old had helped Hearts to the top of the table.

Dunne is one of four players called up for the first time alongside Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Ryan Manning (Rotherham United) and Michael Obafemi (Southampton).

Republic of Ireland Provisional Squad
Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Colin Doyle (Hearts), Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Sean McDermott (Kristiansund BK)
Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Kevin Long (Burnley), Jimmy Dunne (Hearts*), John Egan, Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Darragh Lenihan, Derrick Williams (Blackburn Rovers), Greg Cunningham (Cardiff City)
Midfielders: Robbie Brady, Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Harry Arter (Cardiff City*), Conor Hourihane, Glenn Whelan (Aston Villa), David Meyler (Reading), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Shaun Williams (Millwall), Richie Towell, Ryan Manning (Rotherham United*), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City)
Forwards: Shane Long, Michael Obafemi (Southampton), Scott Hogan (Aston Villa), Sean Maguire, Callum Robinson (Preston North End), Aiden O’Brien (Millwall), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth)

Follow us on Facebook