Select Page


Cuchulainn Cycling Club awards

Club secretary Karl Dolan presents Gerard Neary with the Volunteer of the Year Award

Club secretary Karl Dolan presents Gerard Neary with the Volunteer of the Year Award

Friday last saw the members of Dundalk’s Cuchulainn Cycling Club head to Ridleys Bar to celebrate their achievements over the successful 2013 season. Prizes were awarded for the various competitions throughout the year and also those who did a lot of work behind the scenes were also honoured.

Once again it was the Volunteer of the Year award which got the biggest cheer of the night. For a club that hosted the National Championships, obtained planning permission for the building of Ireland’s first international standard cycling velodrome, hosted numerous events for both racing and touring, there is an unbelievable amount of work put in by the volunteers. To pick out just one member is harder than competing in any of the races, but when it came to decision time, Gerard Neary stood out as the person who had gone above and beyond the call of duty over 2013. Gerard played a part in almost every event run by the club, more often than not it was his ability to think ahead and make provisions for issues that could arise that ensured everything went smoothly on the day.

The Flood family were given a special award in recognition of the trojan amount of work the family gets through in helping the club out. Brian Doherty was also recognised with the “Hero of the Year” award.

On the racing awards Ardee’s Stephen Carrie was the outright winner of the FPM Accountants Summer Cycling League. Stepehen in his first year racing had a remarkable season beating out Ralph Ginesi for the win. Meanwhile in the women’s league Fiona Rogers was the outright winner ahead of Sinead O’Hanlon and Hazel Hall. The mountain bike league was taken by Michael Wilson after a close fought battle with Sandra O’Hagan who finished up in second position and Jason Malone in third. Finally the Galibier Clothing time trial league saw two Newry riders top the leader board with Des Woods and Kevin Lynch taking first and second respectively ahead of Dundalk’s Colm Quinn.

Louth Champions honoured on the night were Bryan McCrystal and Gretta O’Connor for the road race. Brother and sister combo Eve and Bryan McCrystal were victorious in the time trial championships. The off road county championships went to Meave Baxter and Ray O’Shaughnessey. Ray was also the hill climb county champion, alongside Breda Dawe.

Eve McCrystal’s phenomenal season saw her voted as the club’s road racing cyclist of the year, in addition to the title of female cyclist of the year. Michael Wilson was honoured as the off-road cyclist of the year, while Pat Kilboy received the same award as leisure cyclist of the year. Nathan McGrane was noted as the most improved male cyclist of the year, while Martina Carey was the female cyclist of the year.

With 2013 almost done there is one more event to go, the Carrick Cycles annual New Year’s Eve Time Trial, starting at 11am from Felda Gym. The 2012 winner’s were awarded on the night, with Niall Clarke winning the men’s and Eve McCrystal the females.

Follow us on Facebook

Local Courses