Select Page


Cuchullian’s finest honoured at end of year awards

Cuchullian’s finest honoured at end of year awards

Cuchullian Cycling Club held its end of year awards night in the Spirit Store recently, where the achievements of its members during the 2019 season were honoured.

The night was a huge success, thanks to the organisational effort of the social committee. Presiding over the awards were Ray Fedigan of long term event sponsors The Bike Station, alongside LMFM’s Pat O’Shaughnessy.

PJ Hynes was the busiest person on the night taking to the stage twice, first to receive the winners’ cup for the MX MTB league, where he beat out Conor Murphy and Gareth McKee. He was called up again when he was voted as the off road cyclist of the year, beating off some stiff competition, especially from Meave Baxter who had had a very successful year on the MTB scene, least of which was winning the club’s ladies hill climb championships.

Cuchulainn Challenge League winners L-R Alan Coyle (3rd) Andrew Flood (2nd) Barry Haughey (1st) Jason Boyle (3rd)

Francis Lafferty was awarded the Leisure Cyclist of the Year, a notable achievement given that this is easily the biggest section of the club. David Holland was also recognised following his return to racing after a horrific accident as the club racing cyclist of the year. Mick Sheridan and Yvonne Cummins were awarded the coveted male and female most improved cyclists of the year.

The female cyclist of the year was jointly awarded to underage sensations Ffionn Dolan and Holly McCaffrey. Despite the late night, two days later Holly was in action to claim the Leinster under 12 cyclocross championships. Male cyclist of the year was Eoin Holmes.

The Paddy Neary perpetual award was presented by the Neary family to Liam Dolan for winning the Bike Station summer league, ahead of Ardee cyclists Alan Malone and Tomás McCabe. The Cuchulainn Challenge league went to Barry Haughey, with Andrew Flood in second and a tie for third between Alan Coyle and Jason Boyle.

Jim Wallace with the Club Spirit Award

So much goes into running a club the size of Cuchulainn that it isn’t just about riding your bike. Work behind the scenes was recognised, with Jim Wallace winning the Cuchulainn “Spirit” award. Meanwhile recently retired club secretary Karl Dolan was honoured as the club person of the year and also given honorary lifetime membership.

Finally cheques were presented to SOSAD and Autism Service Dogs from the money raised by the Lap of Louth held in September. The event was the idea of Barry Rogers, who originally organised the event. This year he handed the reins over to Donal Kiernan who ensured another high quality lap of the county.

Pictured above main: Female Cyclists of the Year Ffionn Dolan and Holly McCaffrey