Select Page


Donal Kieran named Cuchulainn’s Club Person of the Year

Donal Kieran named Cuchulainn’s Club Person of the Year

Cuchulainn Cycling Club held their end of year awards in the Spirit Store on Friday night. The night gives the club’s cyclists a chance to reflect on the past season and highlight the progress made by one of the country’s biggest cycling clubs.

Club chairman Sé Weston addressed the crowd before kicking off the awards. Donal Kieran (pictured above) was voted as the Club Person of the Year. Donal was very active in the leisure section of the club, its biggest area, as well as being involved in organising a number of trips away & helping out with the underage section.

The “Spirit” award was presented to Pat Kilboy. Pat has helped many people get their start in cycling and for a Galway man, his knowledge of local roads & places to stop for a coffee is second to none.

Female underage cyclist of the year Rhiannon Dolan

Callum McCaffrey and Rhiannon Dolan claimed the male and female underage cyclists of the year. Barry Haughey was recognised as the leisure cyclist of the year. Jimmy Flynn on the back of numerous national medals was the road racing cyclist of the year. Geraldine Kerr was voted as female cyclist of the year, with Teresa Bates, having made great strides in the sport this year, was the most improved female cyclist. Most improved male cyclist was Paul McCartney, while Brendan Foley was the off road cyclist of the year.

Most improved male cyclist Paul McCartney

The various league winners were also recognised with Colin McGeown winning the Open Enduro league and Brendan Foley winning the Elite Enduro. Ardee’s Tomas McCabe was the overall winner of the Bike Station Summer league, with Helen McShane winning the accompanying Cuchulainn Challenge Road League. Finally Kevin McDonald was applauded for winning the XC MTB league.

The club still has one event to go for 2018 with the New Year’s Eve Time Trial coming up on the 31st.


Follow us on Facebook