Dundalk Famine Graveyard Association to hold church gate collection this weekend
Dundalk Famine Graveyard Association will be holding their church gate collection this weekend in Blackrock, Haggardstown and Knockbridge.
Unlike other graveyards, this cemetery has no headstones or any symbols depicting the burial plots of the men, women and children buried there. The individual or the family’s last place of rest is not marked. Dundalk Famine Graveyard at Killally is a unique historic cemetery. Its peaceful location is two miles from Dundalk off the Ardee Road. At the junction with the Heynestown Road turn left down a lane.
The cemetery was opened in 1852 to cater for the increasing number of Famine victims and remained in use until 1955 It was no longer used for burials and remained neglected and overgrown. In 1998 the local volunteers started to clean the over growth from the cemetery.
In 2017 the group undertook to clear the old cemetery walls of trees briars ivy and weeds. Their hard work has revealed the need to refurbish the existing walls. An old stile was also discovered in the clean-up which was an old route used by Church goers. It remains in very good condition.
The first stage of the cemetery wall restoration has been completed on the north wall of the cemetery.