Select Page


Heartbreak for Louth Ladies in All-Ireland final

Heartbreak for Louth Ladies in All-Ireland final

There was heartbreak for the Louth Ladies GAA side yesterday as they lost out to Limerick on a 5-6 to 0-8 scoreline in the All-Ireland Ladies Junior Championship final at Croek Park.

The damage for Darren Bishop’s side, who were aiming to win the title in memory of their late manager Micheal McKeown who passed away in June, was done in five first half minutes when they conceded three goals with two from Mairead Kavanagh and one from Rebecca Delee.

Kate Flood did her best to inspire a Louth fightback in the second half but further goals from Cliona Ní Cheallaigh and a second from Delee ensured the title went back to the banks of the Shannon for a second time.

Flood had actually scored the opening point of the game before Catriona Davis levelled matters at 0-1 apiece after 15 minutes.

Then came a flurry of scores that saw them race 3-2 to 0-1 ahead to effectively put the game beyond the reach of their opponents by half-time.

Louth came out for the second half with three points without reply, including two from Flood, to give them brief hope of a fightback but Limerick ran out convincing winners with two further goals.

It was nevertheless a brave effort from the Louth Ladies who can be proud of their efforts this season.

Scorers – Limerick: M Kavanagh 2-2, R Delee 2-1, C Ní Cheallaigh 1-0, D O’Brien 0-2, C Davis 0-1 (0-1f).

Louth : L Boyle 0-4 (0-3f), K Flood 0-3 (0-2f), A Russell 0-1

Limerick – M Giltenane; A Hartigan, S O’Sullivan, K Reidy; A McGrath, N Ryan, C Mee; M O’Shea, L Hanley; R Ambrose, R Delee, C Ní Cheallaigh; O Giltenane, C Davis, M Kavanagh.

Subs : K Heelan for Davis (39), C Hickey for Ní Cheallaigh (46), D O’Brien for Ambrose (50), M Walsh for O’Sullivan (55), K Geary for McGrath (57).

Louth – U Pearson; M McMahon, E Murray, S McLoughlin; A Russell, E Byrne, C Nolan; R Carr, S Woods; J McGuinness, K Flood, N Rice; L Boyle, B Fleming, A Breen.

Subs: R Kavanagh for McGuinness (45), E Hand for Murray (50), M McArdle for Byrne (58).

Ref – Niall McCormack (Laois).