Select Page

Lynch and Ryan on fire as Fechin’s retain Louth Senior Hurling Championship

Lynch and Ryan on fire as Fechin’s retain Louth Senior Hurling Championship

St Fechins comfortably retained their Louth Senior Hurling Championship title with a 4-14 to 0-12 victory over Knockbridge in today’s final at Dowdallshill.

The Termonfeckin men only won their first hurling championship 12 months ago but never looked in doubt to retain it as they ran out 14 point winners in the end.

Knockbridge only led after the opening minute after Robert Wallace opened the scoring with a point.

However, a fifth minute goal from county star Seaghan Connelly put St Fechin’s in the ascendancy with Paddy Lynch adding two frees in quick succession before Wallace replied with a point that left it 1-2 to 0-2 after 15 minutes.

Lynch and Shane Fennell then exchanged the next four scores before Lynch’s fifth point of the game extended the St Fechin’s advantage to four on 21 minutes.

Michael Ryan and Fennell then exchanged further scores before another free from Lynch left it 1-7 to 0-5 in favour of the holders at half-time.

A third point of the afternoon from Wallace on the restart briefly had the deficit back to four but further points from Connelly and Ryan stretched the Fechin’s lead further before the latter found the net on 33 minutes to leave it 2-9 to 0-6.

Wallace, Gerard McKeown and Fennell did manage to respond with the next three points in-a-row for Knockbridge to close the gap back to six by the 42nd minute but two minutes later the game was pretty much killed off as a contest when Ryan scooped for his second goal to leave it 3-9 to 0-9.

Kevin Hearty and Gavin Kerrigan once again responded for Knockbridge but a fourth Fechin’s goal from David Stephenson on 46 minutes killed off their challenge once and for all.

They would manage just one point after that from Hearty four minutes from the end as Fechin’s added to their lead with star men Lynch and Ryan adding to their tallies.

Scorers; St Fechin’s – Paddy Lynch 0-10, 6f, Michael Ryan 2-3, Seaghan Connelly 1-1, David Stephenson 1-0.

Knockbridge – Robert Wallace 0-4, Shane Fennell 0-4, 3f, Kevin Hearty 0-2, Gerard McKeown 0-1, Gavin Kerrigan 0-1.