Select Page


Michael O’Connor named in Republic of Ireland U21 squad for Luxembourg qualifier

Michael O’Connor named in Republic of Ireland U21 squad for Luxembourg qualifier

Dundalk footballer Michael O’Connor has been named in Stephen Kenny’s Republic of Ireland U21 squad for their UEFA U21 European Championships qualifier against Luxembourg next weekend.

Ireland are set to face Luxembourg in their first game of the campaign at Tallaght Stadium on Sunday, March 24 with kick-off at 5pm. Tickets for the match are currently on sale at just €5 for adults and FREE for U18s, and FAI and Shamrock Rovers’ Season Ticket Holders.

O’Connor, currently playing for Linfield in the NIFL Premiership, previously featured as a sub for the 21s as part of a home-based squad in Dublin last month.

Kenny has named a 23-man squad which includes eight players from the SSE Airtricity League. Darragh Leahy and Dan Mandroiu of Bohemians, Liam Scales and Neil Farrugia of UCD AFC, Waterford’s Zach Elbouzedi and Aaron Drinan, Shamrock Rovers’ Trevor Clarke and St Patrick’s Athletic midfielder Jamie Lennon have all been named.

Liverpool duo Caoimhin Kelleher and Conor Masterson, Manchester United’s Lee O’Connor, Manchester City’s Gavin Bazunu and Tottenham Hotspur’s Troy Parrott have also received call-ups to the U-21 squad.

Simon Power, currently on loan at Dutch second tier side FC Dordrecht from Norwich City, and Connor Ronan, who plays for Slovakian side FC DAC 1904 on loan from Wolverhampton Wanderers, will also report for the squad on Monday, March 18.

The squad announcement follows news from the UEFA Executive Committee that the UEFA U21 European Championships finals tournament will expand from 12 teams to 16 teams. The finals, which are set to take place in Hungary and Slovakia in June 2021, will now have four further teams in the finals competition.

Tickets for the qualifier are currently available via Ticketmaster HERE.

Republic of Ireland U21 squad v Luxembourg

Goalkeepers: Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Gavin Bazunu (Manchester City)

Defenders: Darragh Leahy (Bohemians), Dara O’Shea (Exeter City, on loan from West Bromwich Albion), Barry Cotter (Ipswich Town), Corey Ndaba (Ipswich Town), Conor Masterson (Liverpool), Lee O’Connor (Manchester United), Trevor Clarke (Shamrock Rovers), Liam Scales (UCD AFC)

Midfielders: Jayson Molumby (Brighton and Hove Albion), Jake Doyle Hayes (Cambridge United, on loan from Aston Villa), Connor Ronan (FC DAC 1904, on loan from Wolverhampton Wanderers), Jamie Lennon (St. Patrick’s Athletic), Conor Coventry (West Ham United), Dan Mandroiu (Bohemians).

Attackers: Adam Idah (Norwich City), Troy Parrott (Tottenham Hotspur), Neil Farrugia (UCD AFC), Zach Elbouzedi (Waterford), Michael O’Connor (Linfield), Simon Power (FC Dordrecht, on loan from Norwich City), Aaron Drinan (Waterford, on loan from Ipswich Town).

UEFA 2021 U21 European Championships Qualifiers – Fixture

24/03 – Republic of Ireland v Luxembourg, Tallaght Stadium, 5pm