Select Page


Superb back nine earns win over O’Hanrahan at Dundalk Golf Club

Superb back nine earns win over O’Hanrahan at Dundalk Golf Club

Harry O’Hanrahan produced a superb back nine to take Sunday’s Singles Stableford on countback from Senior Panel member Neal McKell who showed he is running into form as Mount Juliet looms on the horizon.

The three handicapper, who won the Junior Cup earlier this year,recorded the day’s best gross score of 39pts but his nett score of 42pts was only good enough for second overall as O’Hanrahan rolled back the years with a vintage display.

Now playing off 26, O’Hanrahan had three consecutive three pointers from the third hole as he went out in 18pts despite drawing a blank at the par three ninth.

Two more three point holes followed at the 10th and 11th and also at the 13th and 15th. But it was his par four at the long index four 16th that really made a difference to his card as the four points he picked up there, followed by two points at both the 17th and 18th saw him come home in 24 points and sign for a round of 42pts.

Alan Hurley (5) took Category 1 with 41pts, Fergal McKenna (18) claimed Category 2 while Larry Hanratty (24) took Category 3. Daniel Nordone (16) was the juvenile winner.

The Leinster Finals of the AIG Senior Cup will take place in Mount Juliet on August 25 and 26 when our senior panel will bid to add to the Barton Shield pennant they won in Mount Wolseley last month. All support will be very welcome with Dundalk’s quarter-final against The Island teeing off at 8am on Saturday week.

This Saturday, August 18, see the club host a Fun Day for members and friends which has been organised by the Social Committee. The 18 Hole Timesheet is behind the bar and there are a few spaces still available which must be prepaid. A timesheet for a Nine Hole competition from 5pm until 7pm is also open. The dinner is at 8pm and is available to all members for €15, although booking in the Restaurant is necessary. This will be followed by a night of entertainment and fun.

With two rounds to play in the Golfer of the Year, Clem Walshe has opened up a 10 point lead on Peter Rogers who lies second one point ahead of Brendan Duffy and Christy Ward with Neal MacKell a further point back in fifth place. The Golfer of the Year will be based on seven counting scores out of the 10 nominated events and the following is the top ten based on six counting scores out of the eight events played to date.

Golfer of the Year (after eight events): 429 – Clem Walshe (5). 439 – Peter Rogers (1). 440 – Brendan Duffy (12), Christy Ward (8). 441 – Neal MacKell (3) 441. 443 – Neil Mullooly (6). 444 – Gerry Murray (10), Jimmy O’Connor (21). 445 – Frank Byrne (8), Danny Miele (11)

Sunday, August 12 – Singles Stableford – Overall: Harry O’Hanrahan (26) 42/24pts, Neal MacKell (3) 42pts. Category 1 (0-12): Alan Hurley (5) 41pts, Eddie Rocks (10) 40/22pts. Category 2 (13-18): Fergal McKenna (18) 40/20pts, Dessie Ward (13) 40pts. Category 3 (19+): Larry Hanratty (24) 41pts, Eddie McMullin (29) 40/22pts. Best Gross: Neal McKell (3) 39pts. Juvenile: Daniel Nordon (16) 37pts. CSS: 71 (37pts).


Follow us on Facebook